BERLIN

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Processed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c2 preset

Berlin was fascinating! There was so much history on every single corner that I am pretty sure I missed half of what the tour guides told us. We had two different kinds of tours in Berlin, one was very much your usual historic tour, and the other one was a street art tour. Both tours were incredibly interesting because you got to see Berlin in two different lights. Other than the tours we mostly snacked on beer and schnitzel!

My last travel post was so long that I will try to keep this one short! The photos above are mostly major tourist spots such as the Brandenburg Gate, that we got to see on our tours and during free time. The first photo is the Berlin Cathedral Church, we did not get to go inside but I can only imagine what it would have looked like considering the outside was so beautiful. The second picture is of the Reichstag Building which is Germany’s parliament building and it now has a glass dome on top to represent transparency after the second world war took place. The third picture is of Altes Museum which is part of museum island in Berlin. Next up is the Brandenburg Gate that I mentioned before. The fifth photo is of the Free University in Berlin, I unfortunately could not capture the school in its entirety, but it was quite amazing, I can only Imagine going to school there. The sixth photo is of the TV Tower which is close to the area called Alexander-platz. One very moving monument that we visited was the Jewish Monument of concrete blocks, I have seen it before but I had completely forgotten how submerged and surrounded you become by the concrete blocks as you enter this monument. It had me looking over my shoulder a couple of times to see where I was and who was around me. We also got to see The Berlin Wall, what is remaining anyway, and that is in the eighth photo. The ninth picture is of Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels, and if you did not know before now, the pair are the ones that wrote The Communist Manifesto. The tenth photo is a sculpture known as “Mother and Her Dead Son”, and it sits in the centre of Neue Wache, Berlin, where it is seen as a memorial for victims of war and dictatorship. The last photo is another memorial, it is somewhat transparent glass in the ground, in the square in front of the University, and inside you can see empty white bookshelves. This serves as a memorial to the book burnings that took place in Berlin during World War Two.

Hope you enjoyed this post! xo

I will be sure to share the rest of my travels soon!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    Your pictures are amazing!
    What camera do you use?

    Like

    1. Wow Sarah thank you so much! I use the Canon EOS rebel T3I 🙂 it’s so easy and I love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

